2011 MasterCard Memorial Cup Schedule and Game Times

Toronto, ON – The Canadian Hockey League in association with the 2011 MasterCard Memorial Cup Host Committee today announced the schedule and start times for the 93rd edition of the prestigious National Championship which takes place May 20-29 at the Hershey Centre in Mississauga, ON. 


The host Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors open the tournament against the QMJHL champions on Friday May 20 at 7:00 pm Eastern.  The round-robin games on Saturday May 21 and Sunday May 22 will commence at 2:00 pm Eastern, with all other games of the 2011 MasterCard Memorial Cup beginning at 7:00 pm including the Championship Final which takes place in prime time on Sunday May 29 for the second straight year.  All nine games will be broadcast live to a national audience on Rogers Sportsnet and RDS. 


The 2011 MasterCard Memorial Cup marks the first time the games will be hosted in the Greater Toronto Area since the current tournament format began in 1972.  The event will feature the champions of the Ontario Hockey League, the Western Hockey League, and the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League, along with the host Majors. 


2011 MasterCard Memorial Cup Schedule (All times are Eastern and are subject to change):


Round-Robin Game 1 – QMJHL vs. Mississauga on Friday May 20, 2011 at 7:00 pm

Round-Robin Game 2 – OHL vs. WHL on Saturday May 21, 2011 at 2:00 pm

Round-Robin Game 3 – Mississauga vs. WHL on Sunday May 22, 2011 at 2:00 pm

Round-Robin Game 4 – OHL vs. QMJHL on Monday May 23, 2011 at 7:00 pm

Round-Robin Game 5 – WHL vs. QMJHL on Tuesday May 24, 2011 at 7:00 pm

Round-Robin Game 6 – Mississauga vs. OHL on Wednesday May 25, 2011 at 7:00 pm

Tie-Breaker (if necessary) – Thursday May 26, 2011 at 7:00 pm

Semi-Final – Friday May 27, 2011 at 7:00 pm

Championship Final – Sunday May 29, 2011 at 7:00 pm


The St. Michael’s Majors relocated to Mississauga for the 2007-08 season after playing ten seasons in Toronto beginning in 1997-98.  The organization has been a fixture in Canadian Major Junior hockey since the program was founded in 1907 when St. Michael’s College School implemented a hockey program.  The term “Majors” was first introduced in 1934, the same year the organization captured the first of four Memorial Cup titles with wins in 1945, 1947, and 1961. 


Since the round-robin format of the event was introduced in 1972, the Ontario Hockey League has won a total of 14 Memorial Cup Championships including last season when the OHL’s Robertson Cup Champion Windsor Spitfires claimed the title.  The Spitfires became just the eighth team in history to capture back-to-back Memorial Cups by defeating the host Brandon Wheat Kings 9-1 in the Championship Final.  The QMJHL was represented by President Cup Champions the Moncton Wildcats, while the WHL’s Ed Chynoweth Cup Champions the Calgary Hitmen also participated.


Ticket packages for the 2011 MasterCard Memorial Cup are over 80% sold out!  Gold seating ticket packages are priced at $595 while Red seating ticket packages are available for $495.  Taxes and applicable fees are extra.  Call 905-502-7788 for tickets or visit


The 2011 MasterCard Memorial Cup is proudly supported by MasterCard, title sponsor of this event for 13 straight years.  Associate sponsors include Bank of Montreal, Subway, and CCM. 


For more information about the event please visit

More News
$30,000 Raised in Spitfires’ Commemorative Jersey Auction
1 month ago
Wild ride: A look back at Windsor's historic Championship run
2 months ago
Windsor celebrates Spitfires championship
2 months ago
99th Mastercard Memorial Cup a big success on and off the ice in Windsor
2 months ago
Sum of all stars helps Spitfires achieve championship goal
2 months ago
Sadness shadows success as Otters reflect on season
2 months ago