2017 Mastercard Memorial Cup Opening Events Announced


(Windsor, Ontario) – When the 2017 Mastercard Memorial Cup comes to Windsor this May, there will be just as much activity in the community as there is on the ice.

The celebration will officially kick off May 18th at 3:15pm with the “Opening Banquet”, presented by Collins Barrow, at the St. Clair Centre For The Arts; featuring former Ottawa 67’s goalie and current Toronto Maple Leafs broadcaster Jim Ralph, along with Masters of Ceremony John Fairley (St. Clair College) and Windsor Spitfires legend Adam Graves, who led the team to the 1988 Mastercard Memorial Cup championship final.

Also in attendance will be players, coaches and officials representing the four participating teams, representatives from the Canadian Hockey League, sponsors and community organizers.

Tables of ten are available by calling 519-254-5000 ext. 250 or

Following the banquet, the community is invited to a free celebration: “Witness The Legacy: The Memorial Cup Arrival”. The historic trophy will arrive along the Detroit River from Sarnia on board the Canadian Coast Guard patrol vessel Private Robertson V.C before docking at

Dieppe Gardens at 6:00pm. The Cup will be off-loaded at 6:30pm.

Accompanied by military personnel, the Memorial Cup will be paraded from Dieppe Park up Ouellette Avenue to the Essex County War Memorial in City Hall Square for a special ceremony and will then be available for viewing in the lobby of City Hall from 7:45pm to 9:00pm.

“It’s exciting to announce events like this as we get closer to actually hosting the 2017

Mastercard Memorial Cup”, noted Event Chair John Savage. “Everything is coming together in our quest to make this a most memorable experience and to showcase our great City of Windsor and surrounding area.”

More information on opening celebrations and other community events will be announced at a news conference scheduled for April 19th at 11:30am at the WFCU Centre, with details to follow.


More News
Sherwin-Williams Top Prospect Award: Andrei Svechnikov
6 hours ago
CCM Top Scorer Award: Jayden Halbgewachs
6 hours ago
TVA Sports Humanitarian of the Year Award: Garrett McFadden
6 hours ago
Bumper to Bumper Sportsman of the Year Award: Aleksi Heponiemi
6 hours ago
Janes Brian Kilrea Coach of the Year Award: Drew Bannister
6 hours ago
CIBC Scholastic Player of the Year Award: Alexandre Alain
6 hours ago