CHL announces 2013-14 Award winners

Saturday May 24, 2014

London, ON – The Canadian Hockey League today announced the 10 national award winners for the 2013-14 season including Anthony Mantha of the Val-d’Or Foreurs who earned Sportsnet Player of the Year honours.  The awards were presented as part of the 2014 MasterCard Memorial Cup festivities at The Grand Theatre in London, presented by The London Free Press.


2013-14 CHL Award Winners:

Jack Link’s Top Prospect of the Year: Sam Bennett (Kingston Frontenacs):

Sam Bennett is listed first overall by NHL Central Scouting among North American skaters in their Final Rankings for the 2014 NHL Draft which takes place June 27-28 in Philadelphia.  The 17-year-old forward from Holland Landing, ON, tied for ninth in OHL scoring with 91 points including 36 goals and 55 assists in 57 games for the Kingston Frontenacs recording a plus-minus rating of plus-34.  Finalists for the award were top WHL prospect Sam Reinhart of the Kootenay Ice ranked third by NHL Central Scouting, and top QMJHL prospect Nikolaj Ehlers of the Halifax Mooseheads ranked at number 13. Watch Sam Bennett interview.


Chrysler Dodge Top Scorer: Connor Brown (Erie Otters):

Connor Brown led all CHL players in scoring with 128 points including 45 goals and 83 assists in 68 games establishing a new team record the Erie Otters who had their best season in franchise history with 52 wins and 106 points.  The 20-year-old Toronto native is a Maple Leafs prospect selected in the sixth round of the 2012 NHL Draft.  Finalists for the award were top QMJHL scorer Anthony Mantha of the Val-d’Or Foreurs with 120 points in 57 games, and top WHL scorer Mitch Holmberg of the Spokane Chiefs who recorded 118 points in 72 games.  Watch Connor Brown interview.


SUBWAY Scholastic Player of the Year: Connor McDavid (Erie Otters):

Connor McDavid achieved a 92% average during his first semester attending McDowell High School in Erie and currently carries an 87% average in his final semester of Grade 11.  On the ice, the 17-year-old from Newmarket, ON, and Canadian National Junior Team member scored 99 points in 56 games for the Otters.  He becomes the second member of the Otters to win the award following Brad Boyes in the 1999-2000 season.  Finalists for the award were Jeremy Gregoire of the Baie-Comeau Drakkar, and Nelson Nogier of the Saskatoon Blades. Watch Connor McDavid interview.


Cooper Tires Humanitarian of the Year: Sam Fioretti (Moose Jaw Warriors):

Sam Fioretti made a big impact both on the ice and in the Moose Jaw community in his fourth and final WHL season.  The 20-year-old captain from Calgary, AB, was the driving force behind the Warriors’ partnership with the Moose Jaw Police Service to visit local schools to speak out against bullying.  He also made it a goal to help educate area students about the importance of physical activity and was a key participant in the club’s Read to Succeed Program.  He is the second member of the Warriors to win the national award in four years following Spencer Edwards in 2010-11.  Finalists for the award include Charles-David Beaudoin of the Drummondville Voltigeurs, and Scott Simmonds of the Belleville Bulls. Watch Sam Fioretti interview. Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year: Sam Reinhart (Kootenay Ice):

Sam Reinhart finished tied for fourth in WHL scoring with 105 points including 36 goals and a team record of 69 assists in 60 games recording just 11 minutes in penalties for the Kootenay Ice.  The 18-year-old captain from Vancouver, BC, also represented Canada at the World Junior Championship and is a top prospect for the 2014 NHL Draft helping the Ice to a WHL-record 15th consecutive season with a record of .500 or better.  Finalists for the award include Frederik Gaudreau of the Drummondville Voltigeurs, and Connor McDavid of the Erie Otters. 


Old Dutch Brian Kilrea Coach of the Year: Eric Veilleux (Baie-Comeau Drakkar):

Eric Veilleux led the Baie-Comeau Drakkar to first place in the QMJHL standings in just his second season behind the team’s bench finishing 2013-14 with 99 points including an overall record of 47-16-2-3.  Finalists for the award were D.J Smith of the Oshawa Generals, and Dave Lowry of the Victoria Royals. Watch Eric Veilleux interview.


BMO Rookie of the Year: Nikolaj Ehlers (Halifax Mooseheads):

Nikolaj Ehlers finished fourth in QMJHL scoring with 104 points including 49 goals and 55 assists with an incredible plus-minus rating of plus-65 in only 63 games for the Halifax Mooseheads.  The 18-year-old native of Denmark is eligible for the 2014 NHL Draft and is the top rated QMJHL prospect listed at 13 by NHL Central Scouting.  Finalists for the award include Travis Konecny of the Ottawa 67’s, and Nick Merkley of the Kelowna Rockets. Watch Nikolaj Ehlers video.


Vaughn Goaltender of the Year: Jordon Cooke (Kelowna Rockets):

Jordon Cooke posted a 39-7-0-4 record including four shutout victories in 51 appearances for the WHL’s first place Kelowna Rockets.  The 20-year-old from Leduc, AB, finished second among WHL netminders with a 2.28 goals-against-average and fourth with a save percentage of .922.  Finalists for the award include Zachary Fucale of the Halifax Mooseheads, and Alex Nedeljkovic of the Plymouth Whalers. Watch Jordon Cooke interview.


Arctic Spas Defenceman of the Year: Derrick Pouliot (Portland Winterhawks):

Derrick Pouliot scored 17 goals and added 53 assists for 70 points in 58 games with a plus-minus rating of plus-40 for the Portland Winterhawks who captured their second straight U.S Division title during the 2013-14 regular season campaign.  The 20-year-old from Weyburn, SK, represented Canada at the World Junior Championship and is a Pittsburgh Penguins prospect selected in the first round of the 2012 NHL Draft.  Finalists for the award include Guillaume Gelinas of the Val-d’Or Foreurs, and Aaron Ekblad of the Barrie Colts.


Sportsnet Player of the Year: Anthony Mantha (Val-d’Or Foreurs):

Anthony Mantha led the QMJHL in scoring with 120 points in 57 games played averaging an impressive one goal per game along with 63 assists during the 2013-14 season for the Val-d’Or Foreurs.  The 19-year-old from Longueuil, Quebec, is a Detroit Red Wings prospect selected in the first round of the 2013 NHL Draft and played for Canada at the World Junior Championship.  He becomes the second member of the Foreurs to earn Player of the Year honours following Simon Gamache during the 2000-01 season.  Finalists for the award were Connor Brown of the Erie Otters, and Sam Reinhart of the Kootenay Ice. Watch Anthony Mantha interview.


Photo Gallery


The 2014 MasterCard Memorial Cup is proudly supported by MasterCard, title sponsor of this event for 16 straight years.  Associate sponsors include Bank of Montreal, SUBWAY, Old Dutch,, and broadcast partners Sportsnet and TVA Sports. 


For more information please visit

More News
$30,000 Raised in Spitfires’ Commemorative Jersey Auction
1 month ago
Wild ride: A look back at Windsor's historic Championship run
2 months ago
Windsor celebrates Spitfires championship
2 months ago
99th Mastercard Memorial Cup a big success on and off the ice in Windsor
2 months ago
Sum of all stars helps Spitfires achieve championship goal
2 months ago
Sadness shadows success as Otters reflect on season
2 months ago